National Institute of Electronics & Information Technology - (erstwhile DOEACC Society), an Autonomous Scientific Society under the administrative control of Department of Electronics & Information Technology (DeitY), Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India, was set up to carry out Human Resource Development and related activities in the area of Information, Electronics & Communications Technology (IECT).

Over the years NIELIT was well known as DOEACC and it has established a benchmark in Education. NIELIT has planned a road map for adopting appropriate pedagogy for metamorphosing NIELIT into an Institute of National Importance.

National Recognitions
  • '0' and 'A' levels under DOEACC Scheme have been recognised as equivalent to Foundation & Advance Diploma respectively for the purpose of employment in Central Government and its constituents vide MHRD's Gazette Notification (43) as amended vide Notification (49).
  • MHRD considers 'B' level as equivalent to MCA for employment in central government services vide notification (54) dated 26-Sep-2000.
  • The Committee of AICTE has approved 'C' Level as equivalent to ME/MTech in Computer Science for academic and employment purposes.
  • State Governments of HP, Odisha & UP and Public Sector Orgnisations like Food Corporation of India (FCI) have recognised NIELIT qualifications for promotions in various posts.
International Recognitions
  • USA : DOEACC 'A' & 'B' Level qualifications have been recognized by the concerned authorities in the United States of America (USA) for grant of H1 B and L 1 Visa.
  • JAPAN : MoU signed with JITEC of Information Technology Agency (IPA), Japan for mutual recognition of DOEACC qualifications. As a result of the MoU, DOEACC 'A', 'B' and 'C' level qualifiers are eligible for issue of Visa for working in Japan.
  • SINGAPUR : MoU signed with Singapore Computer Society and National Information Competency Centre, Singapore for mutual recognition of DOEACC Qualifications ('B' & 'C' Levels).
  • UK : National Recognition Information Centre for United Kingdom considers 'A' Level as equivalent to BTEC/ SQA Higher National Diploma (HND) standard/ Foundation Degree standard and 'B' Level as equivalent to British Bachelor (Honours) degree standard.
MAHAN - NIELIT (Formerly DOEACC Society)
  • 'O' level since 1991
  • 'A' level since 1993
  • 'B' level since 1995
  • 'C' level since 1998
  • 'Award of Excellence' from DoIT-MoCIT, Govt. of India.
  • Various Commendation certificates by DOEACC Society for outstanding performance.
  • Rated A+ by the DOEACC Society.